CSE Design Day awards announced

The MSU College of Engineering Design Day was held at the MSU Union on May 1, 2009.

Design Day showcases the accomplishments of MSU engineering designers, innovators, and entrepreneurs.

Ten teams of computer science students designed complete software systems for corporate clients and competed for four prestigious awards.

Congratulations to the Spring 2009 award winners:

Auto-Owners Exposition Award
Team 2: Auto-Owners Insurance — Gina Chernoby, Daniel Chandonnet, Michael Eaton, Steve Springer

Chrysler Praxis Award
Team 6: Motorola — Matt Beer, Randy Lyczynski, Maitland Marsh, Bethany Wenzel

Crowe Sigma Award
Team 10: Urban Science — Jeremy Kocks, Jeffrey Smith, Jason Weber

TechSmith Screencast Award
Team 4: Ford — Michael Peteuil, Gregory Kent, Lauri Marc Ahlman, Nicholas Stumpos

Thank you to the following individuals for serving as Spring 2009 Design Day judges:

  • Lisa Byington, sports anchor for WLNS TV
  • Rich Enbody, associate professor of computer science and engineering at Michigan State University
  • Naim Falandino, software architect at Covisint
  • Louise Hemond-Wilson, executive IT architecture consultant at IBM
  • Brian Niemiec, vice president of Sircon
  • Kevin Ohl, executive partner at Crowe Horwath
  • Marty Strickler, director of information systems at Rose Packing Company
  • Karen Wrobel, senior manager at Chrysler LLC

To view project videos, please visit the CSE 498 Collaborative Design Web site.

(Date Posted: 2009-06-01)